Informal Logic

INFORMAL LOGIC is a peer reviewed journal publishing articles and reviews on topics related to reasoning and argumentation in theory and practice. It is deliberately multi-disciplinary, welcoming theoretical and empirical research from any pertinent field, including, but not restricted to, philosophy, rhetoric, communication, linguistics, psychology, artificial intelligence, education, law.

Vol 36, No 2 (2016)

The articles in this issue by Mark Battersby, Susana Nuccetelli, Jens Kjeldsen, and Scott Jacobs are revisions of their keynote addresses delivered at the 2016 Ontario Society for the Study of Argumentation conference, Argumentation, Objectivity and Bias. The article by Eugen Popa is a revision of his paper, also presented at that conference, which was awarded the J. Anthony Blair Prize “for a paper written by a student (or students) ... and deemed especially worthy of recognition.” This issue also includes Replies to earlier papers.

Table of Contents


Mark Battersby
Susana Nuccetelli
Jens Elmelund Kjeldsen
Scott Jacobs
Eugen Octav Popa


Marcin Selinger, Marcin Koszowy
Moti Mizrahi
Markus Seidel



J. Anthony Blair
Ralph H. Johnson
Hans V. Hansen
Christopher W. Tindale,
University of Windsor


Contributing French Editor:

Claude Gratton, Antelope Valley College, CA

 Editorial Board

Derek Allen, University of Toronto
Ruth Amossy, Tel-Aviv University
Richard Andrews, University of London
Sharon Bailin, Simon Fraser University
Mark Battersby, Capilano University
Frans H. van Eemeren, University of Amsterdam
Robert Ennis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Maurice Finocchiaro, University of Nevada at Las Vegas
James B. Freeman. City University of New York, Hunter College
Tim van Gelder, University of Melbourne & Austhink
Michael A. Gilbert, York University
Geoff Goddu, University of Richmond
Jean Goodwin, Iowa State University
Trudy Govier, University of Lethbridge
Leo Groarke, Trent University
Dale Hample, University of Maryland
David Hitchcock , McMaster University
Sally Jackson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Fred A. Kauffeld, Edgewood College
Christian Kock, University of Copenhagen
Erik C.W. Krabbe, University of Groningen
Tone Kvernbekk, University of Oslo
Christoph Lumer, University of Siena
Robert C. Pinto, University of Windsor
Chris Reed, University of Dundee
Michael Scriven, Claremont Graduate University
Harvey Siegel, University of Miami
Francisca Snoeck Henkemans, University of Amsterdam
Douglas Walton , University of Windsor
John Woods, University of British Columbia & King's College London
Larry Wright, University of California at Riverside
David Zarefsky, Northwestern University